2016, Go Stuff Yourself.

r0012805-edit

Seoul, 2016.

2016 was a weird year for me. Lots of things changed. Both for better and worse.

Photographically, I think I grew a lot this year. I didn’t post much however, and have become quite lazy about it. Hence the guest posts lately. I’m glad Bin has being doing that.

img_0261-edit

Somewhere between Seoul and Iksan. 2016.

As per usual, I changed cameras a lot this year. I wrote a blog post in the summer about how I was going to use the same camera and same lens for a year. That camera died shortly after. Maybe it wasn’t meant to be. Maybe I’m not meant to be like that.

r0012694-edit

Seoul. 2016.

Some of my favourite photos from this year were taken during a very short period. There was a two month span when I was shooting a lot. Otherwise, I barely touched a camera. Sad, really.

r0013975-edit

Seoul, 2016.

Truth of the matter is, I went through a rough break up and have been having a bit of a hard time with that. Sucks, but is what it is. We move on. The world keeps turning.

rimg0005-edit

Iksan, 2016. 

One of the themes of this have has been friends. I haven’t kept many people close. Maybe ever. This year, I have found that friends really are the most important people in our lives. Even the friends I had ignored when I was in a relationship were the ones that were first to come to my side when I needed them. Brilliant thing, that.

img_0268-edit

Seoul, 2016. 

I’ve spent much of this year feeling as though I was being smothered. The beginning of this year, anyway. I didn’t really know what was next or why I was doing was I was doing. I didn’t want to work. I didn’t want to take photos. I didn’t really want to do anything.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with Snapseed.

Busan, 2016. 

I’m not sure what changed or when. I’m still having a hard time. Every time I feel like I’ve started to figure it out I realize I’m just as far away from doing so.

dscf7292-edit

Seoul, 2016. 

Feels like being on the ring train. You know, the ones that do a loop around the city. I’m not sure where to get off. Not sure I want to.

I just wanna ride.

r0012783-edit

Seoul, 2016. 

Lots of good things have happened this year as well. I was featured on Lensculture. I co-founded the Instagram group @Wearethestreet. I’m proud of both.

r0012073-edit

Seoul, 2016. 

img_1434

Seoul.

That being said, I can’t seem to shake the funk of this year. Can’t seem to break free of the feeling that I’m treading water. That I’m going through the motions.

r0013808-edit

Somewhere between Iksan and Seoul. 2016. 

I road the train too many times. I took the bus too many times. I wasted too much money, gained too much weight. I traveled too much, but not really enough. I played too much, worked too little. Worked too much and felt like I hardly played at all.

r0013211-edit

Seoul, 2016. 

I suppose that is it. Destined to ride the ebbs and flows. I don’t have much to say aside from;

fuck you 2016. Go stuff yourself.

________________________________________________________

On a slightly different note, I have decided in 2017 to dedicate myself to a project I worked on for a while in 2014 called 여자들. It examines the double standards that exist in Korea in relation to women and their sexuality. More on it in the coming weeks plus a post on my new years resolutions and one on a trip to Busan I’m taking this week.

12747726363_2f969c8322_o

2014.

 

6 thoughts on “2016, Go Stuff Yourself.

  1. Yeah, 2016 can go stuff itself, definitely!

    Though it had some good moments – I finally get to do something with my photography… well that is if life does not decide to f… me up and kill my desire to make photographs.

    Did just that the whole year and I have to try really hard to keep rolling. Too much troubles too much on my mind to have a clear vision and a strong desire. To photograph people you have to love them in a way, strangers and all. But sometimes that’s hard….

    Anyways, as I say every year… Next year’s gonna be a treat! Gonna float with the current, gonna mellow out, gonna be a breeze! Sure! (Hell, I was wrong every one of the last 8 years!)

    Cheers!

  2. Funny thing about end of years, we feel regret for not making the most of the previous one and at the same time we feel hope for the one yet to come. A period of flux, one tide ebbing, taking with it the detritus of the year gone, and the another bringing a new wave of optimism.

    I always liked that quote of yours where you say that – it is hard living in the present, it never feels as nostalgic as the past or as hopeful as the future. Maybe there is some truth in that. My own feeling is that we are too hard on ourselves at times, in years ahead we will probably look back and laugh about it, realising it wasn’t so bad.

    Personally for 2017, I would like to start a new project, something more long term (previous ones have stalled for whatever reason), and also flesh-out my IG account a bit (I used to delete a lot of what I put on there). Maybe then I will get some followers, ha! – Perhaps even start blogging again.

    Anyway, a happy new year to you, Josh, and here’s to a fruitfully photographic twelve months ahead.

  3. Have a very good year 2017, Josh – and in addition to the Instagram group and the Lensculture feature I think you can be proud that your blog inspires many people even thousands of kilometers away. Looking forward to your next posts and also your next project!

Leave a Reply

