2017, Week 1.

r3100056-edit

On the way from Iksan to Busan. 2017.

About a week into 2017 and things are slightly better than they were at the end of 2016. As you might figured from my last post I wasn’t entirely happy with 2016. In fact, it fucking sucked.

r3099989-edit

Busan, South Korea. 2017. 

I started out 2017 in Busan. Kinda felt like traveling to start the year. Busan is a city on the south side of Korea. It is a costal city. I usually go there when I want to smell the ocean.

r3100014-edit

Busan, South Korea. 2017. 

Something about the smell of the ocean relaxes me. Of course there are closer oceans. Closer ports. Something I like about this one.

r3100029-edit

Busan, South Korea. 2017. 

It isn’t the fish or the women selling them. I used to like that. Not so much anymore. I don’t even take many photos there anymore.

r3100028-edit

Busan, South Korea. 2017. 

My photography has always been plagued by GAS. One thing this has made me realize over and over again is that changing cameras and lenses really fucks with my consistency.

r3100041-edit

Busan, 2017. 

In 2016, I tried several times to settle down with a camera. I even went so far as to try to commit to one for a year. That lasted about two weeks until humidity killed it. Guess it wasn’t meant to be.

r3100033-edit

Busan, 2017. 

r3100005-edit

Busan, 2017.

For the record, all the photos in this post were taken with the Ricoh GRD from 2006. I can’t tell you how many emails I get from people asking about this camera. They ALWAYS think it is the GR from 2013 even though I always say it is the one from 2006. I’ve had like 5 of them. Every time one breaks I get another. It is the one single camera that I just keep buying no matter what else I’m using. The problem is, Ricoh cameras in general are just so unreliable.

r3100046-edit

2017.

No matter how nicely I treat them they always die. They never really last more than 6 or 8 months. Even the newest ones. It is kind of sad really.

r3099956-edit

Gwangju, 2017.

After Busan I met up with a friend in Gwangju. This Ricoh actually stopped reading the memory card the night before. Seemed to be fine the next day though. Weird, ha.

r3099960-edit

Gwangju, 2017. 

Gwangju was mostly a night of drinking. I didn’t take the camera out much.

r3100051-edit-edit

Seoul, 2017

From Gwangju, I went to Seoul. The Fujifilm camera I had also been using got a bunch of shit on the sensor somehow so I decided it would be a good excuse to go.

r3100061-edit

Somewhere between Gwangju and Seoul. 2017. 

I went alone. Felt right to make my first trip to Seoul in 2017 alone. I didn’t have anything to do aside from take the camera to Fuji.

r3099948-edit

Somewhere between Gwangju and Seoul. 2017. 

I spent most of the trip like this guy.

Upon arriving in Seoul I went straight to the service place to get the sensor cleaned. It took about an hour so I walked around. I only took a couple photos.

r3100134-edit

Seoul, 2017. 

r3100119-edit

Seoul, 2017. 

There it was,

my first week of the year.

3 thoughts on “2017, Week 1.

  1. Happy New Year Josh. You are still pretty consistent with your point of view and post processing. Consistency is something i struggle with every now and then and also coz i shoot b&w and colour …. Nice set of pictures man

    • I agree with Yuri. I see a consistency in your style that transcends the choice of camera. Sure, there are differences between the images taken with this or that camera but I feel I could pick out your images from a selection.
      Re GAS, maybe you should just stop worrying either way. If you try a new camera then enjoy the experience. If you stick with a camera then enjoy it as well. Sometimes we beat ourselves up so much over things that we end up feeling bad and those feelings are the real issues we face. Like with GAS, we feel we must avoid GAS and we’ve just bought ANOTHER new camera, so we think that we need to really work out what camera we should pick that we won’t suffer GAS next time…and then the same thing happens. Does that make sense? I think guilt can often make us more prone to making the same mistakes again, like when you don’t go to the gym, feel bad about it and think you suck so you don’t go the next day because what’s the point.

Leave a Reply

