Espresso Stout, Buses, Youtube, and the Sony RX100

DSC07213

Seoul.

It is a holiday in Korea this weekend. For me, it means a five day holiday. In the past I might have flown to Japan or Hong Kong but lately I prefer to stay closer to home.

DSC07039

Iksan, South Korea.

DSC07048

Iksan, South Korea.

A couple of months ago I moved back to Iksan, the small town I originally came to when I came to Korea. It’s weird, but somehow living here makes going to Seoul feel like more of a trip. On this occasion I decided to take the bus. Iksan’s bus terminal is very old and has the look of a time long gone.

DSC07065

Somewhere between Iksan and Seoul, South Korea.

One of the things I like best about taking the bus is the rest stops. When the bus stops at a place like this it is easy to be reminded that Korea isn’t completely urban jungle.

DSC07111

Seoul, South Korea.

As per usual, I didn’t have much of a plan upon arriving in Seoul. I decided to go to Gangnam since I hadn’t been in a while.

DSC07103

Seoul, South Korea.

My next blog post is going to be about the shift back to film and my reasons for doing so. This trip, I ran through a couple rolls of film. Sadly, I only had TriX which I don’t like much so I carelessly shot anything just to get through them, ha.

DSC07225

Seoul, South Korea.

Before I continue, funny story about the above photo. Taking photos with a friend at the time he was confused as to why I framed it like this. “She knew you were taking her photo, why would you frame it like that?” I took three photos total this one being the last. I’m not sure why I framed it like that aside from that I thought it was the most interesting. My friend thinks I’m an idiot. I probably am.

Anyway.

For a digital camera I brought an old Sony RX100 Mark 3. All the photos in this post are from that camera. It’s funny how that camera had been basically forgotten about. I never really gave it much of a chance in the first place. It looked gimmicky to me. That being said, after a weekend or so of using it I completely get why people choose the Sony. As a compact camera, it is so much more versatile than the GR or X100T.

DSC07216

Seoul, South Korea.

I like both those other cameras. However, I have come to realize that when it comes to taking this kind of snapshot I’m more picky than I had originally thought. When I’m using the Fuji there are so many moments during a day where I think “I wish this was smaller..” or “I wish I could put this in a pocket”.. When I’m out doing whatever I’m doing I get annoyed when my camera gets in the way. Working mostly with film, I would never carry my FM3A and the Fuji at the same time. It looks ridiculous.

Well, it feels ridiculous anyway.

DSC07208

Seoul, South Korea.

When I was using the GR there were moments where I would think something like “I wish this flash would bounce..” or “I wish this had a viewfinder..” or “I wish this screen would tilt..” or “I wish this was a 35 or a 50..”

DSC07149

Seoul, South Korea.

The thing I thought the most was “I wish this wouldn’t break every fifteen minutes..”

The hipsters among you will think that things like tilting LCDs are stupid. “HCB didn’t use such craziness..” Well, I’m here to tell you I use the LCD a lot when I’m using a compact camera. The simple fact of the matter is that when I’m using the LCD I can frame a photo while letting the subject see my face. I think this all together looks less threatening. Not to mention the ability to tilt it helps a lot in situations like above (2 above). I wanted to make the guy look more looming but was too lazy to bend down, ha. I showed him after and he thought he looked like a dictator. Funny.

The rest of the things I mentioned, the Sony does. It fits in a pocket as well as doing the rest. Not to mention it has been dropped on concrete twice and still works like a champ. The Ricoh would have been in bits I’m sure.

DSC07191

Seoul, South Korea.

The first day in Gangnam was mostly spent shopping. It is my preferred method of entertainment. That and coffee. And beer. So, you can imagine how much I love this ridiculously expensive Espresso Stout above. Lots of nice Japanese things in this photo. I walked around Gangnam at night with these (plus a couple more in the bag). I didn’t take that many photos. I just enjoyed the walk.

DSC07238

Seoul, South Korea.

The next morning I decided to ditch Gangnam and go to Myeongdong to meet a couple friends. The walk through Namdaemun was as treacherous as ever. Old women everywhere looking to tear me a new one.

DSC07249

Seoul, South Korea.

Right, is PH. He owns a camera shop in Namdaemun. We have been friend for years and I count him as one of my best friends in Korea. It is extremely hard to find a trustworthy camera shop in Seoul so I’m happy to recommend his to anyone who asks. Hi-camera.com ๐Ÿ˜‰

Left, is DB. Another good friend. He’s my “co-star” for an upcoming series of videos I’ll be doing on Youtube. A great dude, and a good photographer in his own right. The first video we are doing is a mini documentary of me during the 24hourproject in March. It is basically a world wide project where photographers around the world take one photo an hour for 24 hours and post them to Instagram. Should be a blast, assuming I survive.

DSC07266

Seoul, South Korea.

After leaving PH’s shop DB and I just walked around Myeongdong. One thing I’ve noticed about using the Sony is that people don’t “see” me. When I’m using the Fujifilm or Nikon people always notice me and I end up with a smile or some peace signs, ha. I suppose considering its size and apparent amateurishness people don’t care much about it.

DSC07247

Seoul, South Korea.

I didn’t take too many photos. There weren’t many people out because of the holiday. We ended up just talking mostly. When I’m with someone else I hardly ever take photos. I much prefer to enjoy their company.

DSC07276

Seoul, South Korea.

I saw this kid and his skateboard near city hall. I used to be like this kid. I dug the face on his deck so I asked him to hold it for me.

DSC07280

Seoul, South Korea.

We wandered around a bit and eventually it was time to head back to Iksan.

Another long (ish) blog post about nothing. I really need to have a plan going into these. I suppose I could just post the photos?

Maybe I should do that next time. As it is I think they must read as some kind of strange stream of consciousness.

The late buses home are always fun.

DSC07327

Seoul, South Korea.

After getting home I watched a video about Anders Petersen.

DSC07027

Iksan, South Korea.

Takeaway quote:

“It’s not supposed to be beautiful, it’s supposed to be believable.

– Anders Petersen

12 thoughts on “Espresso Stout, Buses, Youtube, and the Sony RX100

  1. Hello, I don’t think it’s another blog post about nothing. You share your thoughts and your hobby. And that photo with girl framed with half face is my favorite.

  2. Always a treat to travel in Korea with you Josh. Having your discription as my guide makes it even more pleasurable.

  3. I used to live in Jeonju where is not too far Iksan long time ago. Sometimes it seems funny that I feel most nostalgic when I visit your blog. Thanks for the nice photos ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hey your article is good, really like the way you share your thoughts, like a diary.
    What’s the video about Anders Petersen? I’d live to watch it. Where did you find it, online on YouTube?

Leave a Reply

