The Fujifilm X-Pro 2

dscf7650

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2

Around six months ago I wrote a blog post about using one camera and one lens for a year. I tried my best, actually. I used the Epson I had planned to use for about a month until it died because of humidity. The second one I got also died. It was at that point I gave up. I had a chance to borrow an Olympus Pen-F. I liked the Pen, actually. It was a nice enough camera.

dscf7679

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2.

The woman, for the record is my friend’s girlfriend. He wanted me to photograph her as he “sees” her. I don’t really know what that means. I figure I can only photography people how I see them. He was happy with the photos, at least.

Anyway, I was talking to a friend about cameras and the like after I had given the Pen-F back. At that point, I didn’t have anything aside from an old half-broken Ricoh.

img_0268-edit

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2.

My friend basically said something like this:

You always fuck around with different cameras. What are your 10 favorite photos you’ve ever taken, show me. 

So, I showed him. Ironic it was, of the ten photos one was taken on a Ricoh compact, 4 film, and 5 were from a Fujifilm digital camera of some sort. He then said,

There you go! Go buy a Fuji. 

dscf8528

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2.

So I did. The weird thing for me with Fuji was always that my favorite camera they made was the X-Pro 1 but there wasn’t a small decent 35mm lens to go with it. I was pleasantly surprised when I realized they had started to make the 23mm f2. I bought the X-Pro 2 and got one of the first 23mm f2 lenses available here.

dscf8496

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2.

So, for the past 5 or so months I’ve been using the X-Pro 2. No need for fanfare, it isn’t an accomplishment. I didn’t write a post saying I was going to use only it for a year or anything like that. Didn’t feel like I needed to talk about. To me, there isn’t one particularly special thing about the camera. It just works, doesn’t get in the way, and does what I want it to do.

dscf7671

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2.

The X-Pro 2 is one of those cameras that I don’t think much about. I don’t really look at it or fondle it. It is quite literally a tool. It does what I want, when I want it to. I don’t think there can be higher praise for a camera.

dscf7637

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2.

I bring it everywhere, without really thinking about it. I never turn the screen on. I don’t baby it so it is a little beaten up now. I don’t really care. I kind of like it more.

The thing is, I dunno how long this will last. I can say, it is the first time in a long time that I didn’t really care about my camera. I don’t care to change it and don’t really care about it, ha.

That probably makes it the best camera I’ve ever used.

dscf7632

Fujifilm X-Pro 2. 23mm f2.

10 thoughts on “The Fujifilm X-Pro 2

  1. The best camera it the one that disappears when you take a shot. Nothing between the subject and the photo that’s already in your head!

    Wonderful portraits! Your magic works!

  2. Nice post, kinda stole my thunder a little bit, ha, as I am actually writing a post about the Fuji X100 at the moment to post in a day or two. Trying to get back into blogging again after a long hiatus.

  3. It was interesting reading about your experience with Fuji because I’m looking into getting a Fuji as well, the X100, the original one, since the others are too expensive for me (I’m not sure if it is a good decision because it has a few years now, but I fell in love with it since it came out). Now back to you – I love your style and the mood of your images.

  4. nfrodrigues – the X100 is certainly a good choice if you manage to get a good one with clean lens and sensor. Best from a professional seller with warranty, you never know – the camera is some years old.

    Funny to think of a 4 year old camera as old when I use my 79 year old Leica daily….

    The X100 is the camera that started me on my way back to film with it’s retro feeling…. beware!!

    • The retro feeling is one of the things that got me interested in the X100 series. I ended up buying an used X100s, I felt it was a better deal. I thought about the x100f but I would have to pay at least 300€ more. I’m sure it was worth it, but in my current budget it would be a bit of a stretch, so I went with the S. It’s on its way to me. I can’t wait to get my hands on it,

Leave a Reply

