The Kids Are Alright

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

South Korea. iPhone 6S.

I suppose I should start by saying merry Christmas. I almost forgot it was Christmas (not really) being here in Korea. Probably partly to do with the fact I worked until 10 PM yesterday.

You may or may not know this about me, but I’m a teacher. Like many foreigners here in Korea I teach, because it is the best way to maintain a steady visa and income. That being said, I have grown to love this job. I enjoy my connection to the kids. This girl for example was scared to the point of crying when we first met. She didn’t like my earrings or tattoos. Ironically she now draws new ones on my hands in spots where there are none.

“Why there is nothing here!?!?”

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

South Korea. iPhone 6S.

I worked so late yesterday because the students were enjoying a Christmas party. Lots of dancing and singing, they all prepared their own skits in order to try to win “happy money” (think itunes gift cards for kids). This is one of those situations where I didn’t mind at all being at work on the 24th of December at 10PM at night. I’m not sure there are many jobs in the world that would make me say the same.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

South Korea. iPhone 6S.

I had a big camera with me but I didn’t take many photos. I find if I’m taking too many photos I don’t enjoy what I’m doing. I gave up my camera to one of the kids for the night and took a photo or two with my phone. She’s also in the first photo, but in the background. She was never scared of me, ha. She also told me she didn’t like my tattoos. She said they are too boring without any colour. I spend half my time trying to stop her from colouring my arms. I’ll probably post some of the photos she took on a later post πŸ˜‰ She was actually pretty good. She went around and took some portraits of her friends. I asked her if the camera was too big for her and she simply said, “I AM NOT SMALL..”

Sadly, it isn’t all fun and games for kids here. I sometimes find it sad the lives they lead as they grow up. The kid below, for example, was walking home still in his school uniform on Christmas Eve at 11:00PM.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

South Korea. iPhone 6S.

Then again, he was probably at an internet cafe playing League of Legends, lol(pun intended).

Anyway, Christmas certainly isn’t the same here as it is at home. Even so, I wouldn’t trade my life here for anything (well, not for much)Christmas or not.

December 25th, 2015.

South Korea.

_____________________________________________

And yes, I’m still using mostly my phone. I’m angry at real cameras at the moment. They all seem to break, ha.

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Kids Are Alright

  1. Sounds like a lovely way to spend Christmas eve and your students seem like good fun (especially the not-so-small little girl who’s an aspiring colorist)! And, happy holidays to you!

  2. “I’m angry at real cameras at the moment. They all seem to break, ha.”

    And yet it seemed a good idea to give the Canon to a kid? πŸ™‚
    She looks very pro though, squinting eye and all.

  3. That’s one badass teacher with piercing, tats and whatnot!!! I wish I had a teacher like that when i was their age. I don’t think local schools here in Hong Kong would take foreign teachers with ‘all that’, just too conservative here. Principals and parents would worry too much and picture their kids like that one day. Happy holidays to you if it’s not too late!

    • Hard to say! It is very conservative here too. But they tend to overlook that kind of thing if you’re educated at a good school or have a good degree. Parents here worry a lot too, but, I’ve never had a problem as my students quite like me. I have seen situations where children would complain when they think a teacher is scary but usually that teacher is actually scary haha.

      Happy holidays to you as well.

  4. I love the first and last photo especially, you don’t even need a professional camera if you can take pictures like this. I think your kids will remember you and moments like this when they grow up πŸ™‚ (even if it means a few late nights!)

Leave a Reply

