Neverland Continued

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Some time ago I made a blog post talking about how I felt taking photos in Korea. I called it Neverland, because of something my father used to say to me. He used to tell me that Korea was my Neverland.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

“Having fun in Neverland, Peter?”

He always said that. At the time I thought it was kind of silly. I didn’t really understand or care to try and get what he was getting it.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

I get it now. Being here, time stands still. I don’t grow up because I don’t need to. I feel young, and oftentimes act it.

I’m also not sure its a bad thing.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Why would anyone “want” the pressures of a hard life. I talk to old friends and while they may be making a lot of money they sound old. They sound tired. I was starting to get like that when I was back in Canada. Being here, it really is different.

Iksan, South Korea.

Iksan, South Korea.

Near Seoul, South Korea.

Near Seoul, South Korea.

I don’t think much in Korea, and I like that. Left to think, the only thing to follow is stress. I’m happy to have little stress aside from thinking about what camera to use tomorrow.

Iksan, South Korea.

Iksan, South Korea.

Iksan, South Korea.

Iksan, South Korea.

I often write that I don’t think much when I take photos. It is a mater of being here. The camera, just something I pick up when I leave my house. Some people listen to music or read books. I take photos.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

That is part of the reason I’m not sure I like the idea of “street” photography. I don’t think that is really what I do. Someone asked me if I was going to make a book about street photography in Korea, and I had to think about it a minute. I don’t really take many photos actually on a street, ha.

Suwon, South Korea.

Suwon, South Korea.

Suwon, South Korea.

Suwon, South Korea.

Anyway, I suppose Neverland really is what this place is like to me. I have never done a proper essay of my photos here in Korea. Not a project even. I could never really figure out of what or how. I think after thinking about what my father said, I have found my answer.

Somewhere between Seoul and Iksan, South Korea.

Somewhere between Seoul and Iksan, South Korea.

Somewhere between Seoul and Iksan, South Korea.

Somewhere between Seoul and Iksan, South Korea.

I don’t think any essay or project I do here needs to have constraints. Too much thinking, that. Just keep taking photos and someday it will be clear to me. Someday I’ll have an essay’s worth.

From Neverland.

That is probably what I would call it.

November 2015.

Somewhere between Seoul and Iksan, South Korea.

Somewhere between Seoul and Iksan, South Korea.

7 thoughts on “Neverland Continued

Leave a Reply

