Simple Things

Evening, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Evening, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

The end of a long weekend. I used to travel on weekends like this. I would go to Tokyo or Hong Kong. Now, I prefer to stay nearer home.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Funny that. I’m not sure I enjoy staying close. I stayed in a hotel last night just to feel like I was doing something. Just to feel like I was getting away.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Walking from the hotel to the metro, I kind of had a think about that. I’m not sure it worked. I’m not sure it made me feel better to be away.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

I am learning to appreciate the simple things. I didn’t bother to take a camera with me to Seoul. Just my phone. “Not going to take many photos anyway.” At least that is what I told myself.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Morning, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Not sure why I decided to start taking them in the morning on the way home. Maybe I was bored. Happens to me a lot lately. I just start taking photos without thinking about it. Didn’t really matter that I didn’t have a “real” camera.

Early afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Early afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

I think this is the way photography is meant to be. Without too much thought. When I have to think about it, I get bored of it. When I have to think about it, I feel like I’d rather be doing something else.

Early afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Early afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

It is part of the reason I came back to Korea. I don’t think much here. My father once told me Korea is like Neverland for me. It is, in that I don’t feel the time here. Living is more like being. I’m just here.

Afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

I started the train ride by closing the curtain out of habit. No camera, nothing to look at. A funny thought considering I had been taking photos on my way to the train.

To that point, I’ll often go on a trip with a big camera and suddenly it becomes about taking photos more than the trip. A point I’ve often made here, but I really felt it today. Sitting in the train, looking out the window, I realized I had spent the last three trips on the train trying to take photos and hadn’t really “looked.”

Afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

The whole “stop and smell the roses” cliche. I kinda got it today. I spent all this time thinking about doing a project on the train, and blah blah blah. I hadn’t actually taken the time to enjoy the trip properly.

Afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

A beautiful trip. While sitting at the hotel I hadn’t really appreciated why I had come in the first place. I spent three hours just looking out the window of that train.

Late afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Late afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Late afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Late afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

I was kind of sad when I got back to Iksan. Kind of sad to get off the train. I probably would have stayed on if it wasn’t the last stop.

Late afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Late afternoon, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Really the end of a long weekend. Sad, really.

Happy I learned something though.

Learned to think less. As many times as I say that to myself I manage to forget it easily.

September 29th, 2015.

Evening, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

Evening, September 29th, 2015. iPhone 6 Plus.

12 thoughts on “Simple Things

  1. Hi JT,

    I’ve been following your blog (and thoughts!) for a while and I really like your style. I was wondering how you processed your pics…I’m shooting more analogue these days after failing to get the look I wanted with digital files. However, I do like your processing and I still love to go out with my Ricoh GR, so any tips would be greatly appreciated!

    Cheers, Andy

    Op 29-9-2015 om 11:49 schreef jtinseoul: > WordPress.com > jtinseoul posted: ” The end of a long weekend. I used to travel on > weekends like this. I would go to Tokyo or Hong Kong. Now, I prefer to > stay nearer home. Funny that. I’m not sure I enjoy staying close. I > stayed in a hotel last night just to feel like I was doing” >

    • Hi Andy,

      So these photos were shot on the provoke app for the iPhone and that is it. The app mimics pushed film. Generally speaking I use vsco on my phone to process digital photos, or push my film a couple of stops to get the look you mention. Hopefully that helps! If you want more details, email me at jtinseoul at gmail.com and I’ll give you more specifics when I get a chance.

      Best,

      Josh

  2. Hi Josh,

    stumbled on your blog some days ago, guess read your posts a couple of times by now.
    I’m not searching for similarities between your life and mine.
    Your thoughts on being and why being in Korea are true, somehow of what it feels for me being in China. I’ve been there some years, now back home getting stuff done. Day in day out thinking what comes next, if I should go back when I’m done here. Reading your post is kind of reinforcing my decision.

    Thanks,

    Max

    • Hi Max,

      I have been through that. I was home, for a time. I never felt right at home. I always felt like this is the only place I’ve found peace. I make no excuses, people often tell me it’s a waste to not be at home, building a life. I say fuck that notion and fuck them for thinking so. I have always felt like those who are afraid to to what they want don’t deserve the rewards that come with doing so.

      Good luck with your choice.

      Josh

  3. Hey Josh good point about just enjoying the view. I never look outside the window anymore, always distracted by writing, by reading, or other “productive” things.

    Funny enough, I feel the less you try to force your photos, the better they are. These shots are so beautiful, especially the landscape images. I feel so much heart and soul to it.

    I’m starting to consider rebooting my photography soon, starting from scratch. Your blog is always full of inspiration brother, and a joy to look at your photos and read your words ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Although you’re back in Iksan, it sounds as if you are between places inside your head. Really enjoying these pics. They’re fantastic, as ever. Maybe symbolic that you are taking photos on trains and in stations – in transit in more ways than one? Don’t forget Iksan bus station too…. Time is ticking on that one ๐Ÿ™‚ I just downloaded the Provoke app. Let’s see if that wakes me up to take some photos.

  5. when you’re back to your phone, it reminds me of the beginning when I first follow the blog. but then I wouldn’t know if you don’t label iPhone 6 plus. anyways glad you mentioned hong kong ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. I spent six weeks in Seoul and came away with a fictional novel and many pictures. I love your work and focus on B&W. My photography teacher apprenticed with Ansel Adams. She always said that if color does not add something specific to a picture or has a clear purpose, get rid of it!

Leave a Reply

