A Feeling

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

We were on the metro and she blew me a kiss. Like a boyfriend does, I took a picture.

“Why’d you take a picture?”

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

“I dunno, it felt right..”

“Okay…”

Suwon, South Korea.

Suwon, South Korea.

Suwon, South Korea.

Suwon, South Korea.

It sometimes just feels right. To take a photo. Maybe a fear that I won’t always be able to remember walks in the rain.

Maybe I won’t always be getting kisses blown to me.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Maybe we won’t always be like this. Maybe our lives won’t be.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Maybe I won’t be in this restaurant again or maybe I won’t remember the way the pan fried fish reminded me of home.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

I probably won’t always remember the steam from the rice.

Sad, that.

Easy to take for granted.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

I always did before. I still do, too often.

I too often didn’t take pictures when I should have.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

Namdaemun Market, Seoul, South Korea.

If I wasn’t going to take the best photo of my life, why take any?

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

I too often miss the point. I think I get it, but, I don’t.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Seoul, South Kprea.

Seoul, South Korea.

Spend all my time looking for the best photo of my life.

Suwon, South Korea.

Suwon, South Korea.

No point.

The best photos are the photos OF my life.

Yongin, South Korea.

Yongin, South Korea.

In the end, they will be the ones I am most happy to have taken.

I’m glad she asked me why I took that first picture.

She doesn’t ask anymore.

November, 2014.

Seoul, South Korea.

13 thoughts on “A Feeling

  1. … you do not take photographs just to look like an image. you take your photographs to be more than that. in sum, they are often an astute visual record of a particular feeling … well done, Josh …

  2. Thanks for the reminder Josh. This is something a lot of photographers miss completely. I should take more photos important to me rather than trying to come up with something that impresses others.

Leave a Reply

