Jeju-do, 2011.

IMG_4159

Jeju-do, South Korea. iPhone 4. Summer, 2011.

With not a lot going on the past week or so I stumbled across some old photos from a trip to Jeju-do in 2011. I had gone with one of my best friends, Chad. We’d done the trip on motorcycles. I can honestly say it was one of the best weeks of my life.

Just a short time after my father had passed away, it was a trip I really needed. I remember taking just a single change of clothes but three cameras, film, lenses. A Leica M9, an M6, and probably a lot more.

Ironically I came back from the trip feeling like I hadn’t taken a single photo I really liked. I don’t think I cared much at the time as I was just happy to have gone.

Jeju-do, South Korea. iPhone 4. Summer, 2011.

Jeju-do, South Korea. iPhone 4. Summer, 2011.

These photos, completely alluded me for a couple of years. Stuffed away on some old hard drive, I didn’t even realize they were there. All taken with the iPhone 4 (as I remember my M9 battery was wonky for the entire trip) I was using at the time, I’m fairly certain they are the best photos I took on the trip. Not thinking a whole lot about photography that day, we hiked a mountain and visited a temple.

Jeju-do, South Korea. iPhone 4. Summer, 2011.

Jeju-do, South Korea. iPhone 4. Summer, 2011.

I remember thinking at the time that it was wet and I would just try to enjoy the day without a camera. I only took these photos, plus a funny one of Chad trying to jump a puddle.

Jeju-do, South Korea. iPhone 4. Summer, 2011.

Jeju-do, South Korea. iPhone 4. Summer, 2011.

Certainly ironic how three years later these are the only photos I’d care to keep.

5 thoughts on “Jeju-do, 2011.

  1. Less is more. Sometimes photographers tend to bring too many equipment but miss out the beauty of nature by feeling it, rather through the viewfinder to capture it.

Leave a Reply

