Lost Frames: One through Seven

Seoul, January 2012.

Seoul, January 2012.

On my second to last day in Korea, I was teaching a workshop with my good buddy Eric. Usually during these things I try not to take a lot of a photos. It was a little different this time though.

Seoul, January 2012.

Seoul, January 2012.

Being my second to last day in a country I spent four years in. We were in Myeongdong, a place I had shot in numerous times. Nothing special on this day aside from circumstance.

Seoul, January 2012.

Seoul, January 2012.

I also shot the next day as well. One roll of film.

After spending the next week travelling and getting settled the film didn’t get processed. Stowed away in a bag full of stuff I neglected for a year and a half I pulled out the single roll last week.

Seoul, January 2012.

Seoul, January 2012.

After having the negatives scanned, I forgot about them again. Weird thing, that.

When I finally got around to looking at the files I couldn’t help but feel strangely nostalgic. Considering how many photos I’d taken in Korea, it was weirder yet to feel attached to these frames the most.

Seoul, January 2012.

Seoul, January 2012.

I suppose its something to do with the time. A year is a long time to let images permeate.

Seoul, January 2012.

Seoul, January 2012.

So much has happened since taking these photos.

I can hardly remember taking them, if at all. Maybe that’s why I appreciate them so much? It’s like looking at photos I might take as opposed to ones I did.

While caused by stupidity and laziness, it was an interesting experiment.

Seoul, January 2012.

Seoul, January 2012.

These were the first seven frames I pulled out of the roll.

Eight to fourteen on Monday.

One thought on “Lost Frames: One through Seven

  1. I think you probably also derive more pleasure from (re)discovering these images after all the time that has passed in between. I especially like the photos of the girl in the mirror/reflection and of the young men smoking on the street.

Leave a Reply

