Blunder

Newfoundland, Canada.
Newfoundland, Canada.

I sat up last night looking at the final edit I had used for my photo essay, Newfoundland. Having whittled the images away to a mere 12, I was initially proud of myself for adapting the less is more philosophy and was sure I had picked the “correct” images.

Correct. The images may have been that, correct. Maybe. They were also nothing like what I had set out to do in the first place when I decided to drive home to Newfoundland this summer.

Newfoundland, Canada.
Newfoundland, Canada.
Newfoundland, Canada.
Newfoundland, Canada.

Somewhere, I’d lost the plot. Artistic ambition led to a hallow group of images that meant very little.

No words. I had boastfully written this on my blog post stating that for once I had posted something without the help of my keyboard. Why is that something to boast about?

I write.

Big fucking deal.

I really did loose the plot. It’s easy to fall into the trap of doing what you think you must. I fell into the trap of doing what I thought others wanted.

This month of my life was a deeply personal one, and maybe that’s why in the end I had cut all the personal photos out.

Whatever the reason, it was the wrong one.

Newfoundland, Canada.
Newfoundland, Canada.

The project is now as I originally intended it to be. Just five or six of the original 12 images remain. It can be found in it’s entirety here:

http://www.jtwhitephotography.com/projects-newfoundland

Newfoundland, Canada.
Newfoundland, Canada.

4 thoughts on “Blunder

Leave a Reply

