Metro Pass: Blackberry Z10

"Davisville" Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

“Davisville” Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

People are saying the Blackberry Z10’s camera is shit. Being Canadian, I wanted to find out for myself. I took it downtown to grab some food this afternoon.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

The biggest complaint I’ve heard is that it’s terrible in low light. So, I decided to spend most of the time shooting it where there isn’t very good light. On the Toronto Metro.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

I quickly came to the conclusion that 80 percent of the reviews saying the camera sucks in low light are confusing sucking in low light with bad metering.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

The Z10 simply meters for the point of focus. If you use it correctly it does just fine in low light.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

I actually quite enjoyed shooting the Z10. It’s focus system is nice allowing you to drag to focus and touch anywhere on the screen to shoot. It’s intuitive.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

"Spectacles" Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

“Spectacles” Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

I like it as a phone, too. Canadian patriotism? Maybe.

"Bloor" Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

“Bloor” Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

One of my favorite parts is the magnetic flip case. If you close it while shooting it shuts down the screen and once flipped open it starts the camera app up in less than a second. Good for conserving battery. Sorta a big deal in mobile photography.

IMG_00000108

Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Blackberry Z10.

Tip: All mobile cameras suck in low light.

It’s more about how you use them.

After a day or so with the Blackberry Z10 I can honestly say I dig it. Give me some apps and it’s the first phone I could realistically see taking the place of the iPhone as my mobile shooter.

Portfolio.

34 thoughts on “Metro Pass: Blackberry Z10

  1. Very nice shots! The TTC subway is not the best place for good lighting so I was glad to see your variety of shots in different lighting capturing what the Z10 can do. As you pointed out, the ability to change focal point makes for interesting shots compared to cameras where you can’t move the focal point.

    • Thanks Tracey! While I’m not sure these are amazing, I do think for my particular style of shooting the Blackberry does just fine.

      It’s all just light, shadows, and a sensor.

  2. Amazing photos, even if you never set out to pro them wrong being someone who knew everyone was using the camera on the z10 wrong I’m glad to see so done finally show people how to use it properly. Do the z10 replace your iPhone or do you carry both at the moment.

    – Pround Canadian & BlackBerry User -

    • haha, I had been using both because I use a Korean app to talk to my friends back in Seoul. I’ve been trying to get by with using Facebook and the like but it’s not ideal yet! Here’s hoping the apps come soon.

  3. well done JT! yeah this has proven that people out there never wanna dig deeper into what the Z10 can do. the camera is intuitive, and the phone itself is also intuitive as well. it is not just a phone, but it is a compact mobile computing device.

    aah.. i can’t wait to get my Z10 in my hands now, can’t resist any longer!!

  4. Funny, but I kind of had the feeling that those saying it sucked just didn’t know how to use it.
    As example, I am actually still using the first BB Storm which everyone also said sucked. Yes the browser isn’t very good and there is not enough memory to run just a few apps, but as far as the overall working of the phone is concerned, I don’t really think it is as bad as they said. The reason being, that after using it for a while when I first got it and also thinking it wasn’t responding very good, I did some research and found that making some adjustments to the settings made it work fine.
    Don’t get me wrong. I will be dumping it as soon as the Z10 is out here in the USA.
    My point is that if you don’t take the time to learn how something works, you have the option to say it suck or be honest and say I don’t know what the f_ _ _ I am doing!

  5. Actually Z10 has brighter / faster lens (f/2.2) than Iphone (f/2.4) and with 2nd generation of Aptina BSI sensor Z10 is serious contender to Ip5. Yes you are right, need few apps and OS update to make it better.

  6. I really enjoyed this piece. The impromptu shots are how most of us use the device. Great to get tips from a pro on making the best use of it and again, a professional impression of the camera. I cant find the twitter post that had the link to your metering article. Would you please post it here?

    • Hi Dan,

      I didn’t really do a metering article, but I did help berryreview.com with a couple of tips. If you head over there I believe it’s still on the front page.

  7. Looks very “art gallery” kind of shots. Very nice. But I would love to see how it performs in color and not B&W. Majority of users will be using color, so it will be timely to shoot in that format plus get some shots in the house or office and night shots in the streets. Please do it with a zest of colors now.

  8. I’ve seen them as well but it doesn’t really show the full spectrum of what the camera can do on its own, without, post processing involved. Undeniably, shots are great and the phone too but just needed to see perhaps more portraits, macro etc. But overall, job well done. Tks!

Leave a Reply

